Guatemala!

Y’all, I’m excited.

(Have I lived in the South long enough to say “y’all” on my blog? Oh, I’m saying it anyway.)

On June 8, I’m getting on a plane with 10 other people and we’re going to serve in Guatemala.

Guatemala has a rich history with the Mayan civilization and is a biodiversity hotspot. In addition to the Pacaya volcano, Guatemala also has five different ecosystems including wetlands, lakes, lagoons, rivers, and swamps. The culture is rich in art, literature, and music. Guatemala is also a developing country that still faces significant social problems as one of the poorest countries in Central America. Poverty is widespread and severe—75% of the population lives below the country’s poverty line and more than half of the Guatemalan population lives in extreme poverty.

Still, amidst this poverty is hope.

IMG_3382

(c) Brian Lemmon, 2012

A church in Antigua is doing some big stuff. And it’s making a difference. Our church believes in investing in long-term partnerships and has been sending teams to Antigua, Guatemala to work with this group since Epic launched as a church in 2009. This is the fourth summer we’re going to serve. This trip is a great opportunity to serve the world. We will be building a house for an impoverished family, holding Bible clubs for children, and serving children in need, among other projects.

(c) Brian Lemmon, 2012

(c) Brian Lemmon, 2012

As you may have read, I have a passion for serving those in other parts of the world and I have a passion for seeing others serve the world. On this trip, I am extremely honored to have the opportunity to co-lead. Most of our team has never been on a mission trip and I’m excited to see what God will do in their hearts and through their hands in Guatemala. I think this is going to be an amazing trip.

(c) Brian Lemmon, 2012

(c) Brian Lemmon, 2012

I want to invite you to consider partnering with me on this trip. I’m looking for folks who would be willing to pray for our team and all that we’re going to do while we’re preparing and in-country. You can email me at showscarla [AT] gmail [DOT] com and I’ll add you to my list to get updates about the trip. (You can also follow along through our Team’s page – see below!)

God has graciously provided for me financially to go. However, if you feel led, I would love to ask you to consider giving to the project costs of our trip. (Click the link and add “Guatemala 1: Carla” in the purpose line – Add my name just so I can personally thank you!) You can keep up with our trip via a blog, check out our photos, and make a donation via our trip page. You can also meet the team on the page and send a note!

Thanks, as always, for being part of our journey!

One thought on “Guatemala!

  1. How exciting, Carla! I know missions is in your heart. How long will you be gone? I am jealous, as usual. :-)) Give Evan and Ephrem big hugs and take one for yourself.

    Love and blessings, Grandma

Leave a Reply

