The Cost

Love always costs something.

Sometimes it costs the money in our pocket.

Sometimes it costs us our pride.

Sometimes it costs us being vulnerability and rejection.

Sometimes it costs our dreams and our plans.

Sometimes it costs a life.

But no matter what, it will cost us something to truly love well.

Our church started 2013 with a fast and a tough series called “Not a Fan.” It was tough because I really had to evaluate my life as Christ follower, and the ways that I cheapen that by being a “fan” not a follower in some areas. Then we hit that 11th commandment we try to ignore.

A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another, even as I have loved you, that you also love one another. John 13:34

As our church talked about the call of Christ followers to love others no matter who or what, God spoke to me in this question:

What does love cost me and am I willing to pay it?

If it costs my pride, would I pay it?

If it costs convenience, would I pay it?

If it costs my savings, would I pay it?

If it costs my time, would I pay it?

If it costs my vision of how life “should be,” would I pay it?

If it costs my dreams, would I pay it?

Because love always costs something. It cost God His Son. If I want to call myself a Christ follower, it costs me laying down “my will be done” for “Thy will be done.”

God has been stirring something in my heart. I wish I really knew what it was, but all I feel is this stirring: Am I willing to pay the cost to love well?

Leave a Reply

