A gluten-free, dairy-free Thanksgiving!

I have a wheat and dairy intolerance. I can cheat occasionally, which I normally do for holidays, but with some recent health complications, I decided I needed to behave.

So here’s our gf/df Thanksgiving menu:
-Turkey (prepped with herbs and df butter)
– roasted potatoes (chopped red potatoes, olive oil, and Italian seasoning mix)
– broccoli
– gf corn bread (I usually use Bob’s red mill mix with 3/4 cup of sugar but I forgot to pick it up!)

For dessert, since I can’t eat a traditional pumpkin pie, I decided to make gf/df pumpkin cupcakes. But as a mom of a toddler, there wasn’t going to be any making it from scratch. So I improvised. I bought a box cake mix.

20121121-205931.jpg

Tweaking recipe I found on Pinterest, I added a can of pumpkin, 2/3 cup of water, 2 teaspoons of gf vanilla, 1 teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/2 teaspoon of ground ginger, 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves, and 2 tablespoons of oil. (This cake mix is often too dry normally.)

20121121-210113.jpg

I baked them for 24 minutes at 350*.

Once they cooled, I used df vanilla icing.

They are delicious.

20121121-210559.jpg

One thought on “A gluten-free, dairy-free Thanksgiving!

  1. Sounds like a great feast! Three of the things I am thankful this year are you, Evan and Ephrem. Have a great Thanksgiving Day!

    Love and blessings, Grandma

Leave a Reply

