“We died before we came here”

I read this story the other day:

When James Calvert went out as a missionary to the cannibals of the Fiji Islands, the ship captain tried to turn him back, saying, “You will lose your life and the lives of those with you if you go among such savages.” To that, Calvert replied, “We died before we came here.”

And now I’m asking myself, How do I live that way? How do I live with such abandon that the cost doesn’t matter? How can I make that translate to my every day life? I don’t think God has called us to live in another country, but I want that sort of perspective where God has planted me here.

But I do not consider my life of any account as dear to myself, so that I may finish my course and the ministry which I received from the Lord Jesus, to testify solemnly of the gospel of the grace of God.

The Apostle Paul
(Acts 20:24)

2 thoughts on ““We died before we came here”

  1. I’m having the same “self-dialogue” in recent weeks. I’ve had it to some degrees throughout my life…..again I come back to this: I surrender it, lift it up to him, offer my literal life up to live or die for him, offer my hands, my feet……… and He must do the “translating” as to what that should be worked out like in my life.

    I read a book recently about some folks laying down their lives to literal death, and it shook me again. Made me evaluate my willingness to surrender it all and secure the right answer in me again. And I wondered why he’s not required something more difficult of me yet (though raising a family is not to be underestimated), when I’ve witnessed others giving more…(Jim Elliot, Mother Theresa, James Calvert)…but I realized that they are just giving what is asked of them and so am I. And my story is not over yet.

    So, that is my musings and look forward to seeing how you work out your questions as well. I’m sure it will be with passion, grace and abandon.

    Love your heart. ♥

Leave a Reply

