Our first family road trip!

Right before I returned to work, we took a little family road trip. Every year, we’ve had the opportunity to serve at IDEAfarm, a ministry that is very near and dear to our hearts. I was terribly nervous because 1) until this trip, Ephrem screamed after 20-25 minutes in his car seat, 2) there was no easy solution if traveling went poorly, and 3) while Evan served this year, I would be sort of solo-ing for the weekend. While I love, love, love getting to serve at IDEAfarm, the thought of trying to keep Little Man quiet for a weekend, all weekend, and sleeping in a cabin sounded like a way to lose my sanity.

Anyway, we bravely set out during nap time, so as to best improve our chances that he would sleep during some of the trip. This is how that went:

20120816-202311.jpg

Yup. Eventually (i.e. 45 minutes later), he tired himself out. Thankfully. I mean, I love my kiddo, but 45 minutes of screaming into a 5.5 hour trip? Not how I wanted to live my life that morning.

20120816-202448.jpg

then, he woke up after sleeping for only 30 minutes. I would have panicked, but our dear friend Elmo came along. Now before you judge me for allowing screen time before the recommended age of 2 years, please review the first photo. (I’ll wait.) Okay, so you understand and would have done the same thing, right? I mean, look how peaceful he was.

20120816-202816.jpg

Plus, I didn’t let him watch the DVD the whole trip (I mean, there’s only so much Elmo a girl can listen to…)

20120816-203012.jpg

Well, we stopped for lunch, ate, and then hopped back in the car. About 45 minutes down the road, the tire pressure light came on. We assumed I had a slow leak in one of my tires, so Evan was going to stop at the next exit to refill it. Until we heard the sound and the car started to swerve. The tire blew. And, because it’s no fun to put the donut on in good weather, it started to pour.

20120816-203346.jpg

Meanwhile, the child who was refusing to sleep earlier, had finally settled.

20120816-203504.jpg

Of course this all happens out in the middle of nowhere. We found a small tire place that called all the shops in town because they didn’t have my car’s tire size only to find that no one in town carried that size…except Wal-Mart. So we stopped again.

20120816-203654.jpg

About two hours after the whole incident happened, we were back on the road.

20120816-203748.jpg

We finally made it to the lake house about 8.5 hours after we had originally left. Yup, the drive that was supposed to take 5.5 hours took 8.5 hours. And Ephrem rocked it. He was amazing. 🙂 And then we got back in the car so I could drive another hour to where we stayed.

Im so glad we went. This is where Ephrem’s story began. We have a number of amazing friends who have a big part in his story. It was special to get to introduce him to all of them. Especially to these girls:

20120816-204043.jpg

(Clearly, he was infatuated – he’s got a thing for older women…) Meron and Mebrate had been huge prayer warriors for our during the process. It was amazing that they got to see and touch their answer to prayer. Plus, I love to be around people who get adoption :-).

Even though he played with a lot of very pink toys, we had a great weekend. We met new friends, went swimming, read stories, listened to concerts and just had a great restful time. He didn’t really let Mr. Tymm hold him, by the end of the weekend, Ephrem would high five him. He did let Miss Laura hold him, though.

20120816-204522.jpg

Before we knew it, it was time to go get Daddy again! Ephrem gave him and enthusiastic hug.

Before we left the lake house, we got a photo of our new family standing where the conversations of adoption really began. It’s one of my favorite photos ever. God is so faithful.

2 thoughts on “Our first family road trip!

  1. Fantastic! I’m so glad you had the courage to do it. Parenting like “pros.” (I’m not sure there isn’t such a thing.) :-))

    Love and blessings, Grandma

Leave a Reply

