Choosing love first

Unless you’re living under a rock and/or aren’t on Facebook, you know there’s quite a bit of interest about chicken sandwiches these days. I debated writing this post at all, but now that everything has died down and i have had a lot of time to sit, observe, and come up with an opinion, I wanted to say a few things.

Heres where I stand. I want to choose love and mercy first, because that’s the model I see in Christ. I don’t think this needs to be “us” vs “them.” I think our defending our “right” to speak and have an opinion has obscured the greater purpose of our faith: to love our God with all our heart, mind, and soul, and to love our neighbor as ourselves.

An opportunity to be love as Christ followers has turned into another moment where we hold desperately to being “right” and posting “clever” Facebook statuses or memes over extending love. However you feel about this debate, I’m not sure that this is the response Christ would have In this moment. As Andy Stanley writes, “…God looks for opportunities to extend grace and compassion.” (Grace of God, p. 115) How have you extended grace and compassion in this moment?

Love is kind. Love is not arrogant. It does not act unbecomingly. It does not seek its own. Love is not provoked.

Isn’t this what our lives should reflect? Whatever side of the chicken sandwich your camp is, I think we should all choose love first. If those of us who call ourselves Christ followers would love as fervently as we tend to fight for our “right” to be right, I think this would be an entirely different conversation.

I don’t mean to be another liberal Christian. I’m not trying to take sides. I’m not judging. I’m merely stating that my camp chooses love, grace, compassion, and mercy first.

One thought on “Choosing love first

  1. What a lovely way to put it! In our culture it sure seems that Christians are not seen as loving, patient, kind, long suffering,….what a tragedy…. .at least I fear we are not for the most part overall. I paused on the day of the “chicken” to think of the culture and what it needs to see from the body of Christ……I would hope my life and choices would someday disarm an angry person who’s yet to put trust in God through Jesus. We are not against them, we are for them…..cheering them to His side…to His safety, to His love and compassion and salvation for their souls, which is HIS ultimate goal for all of us. I worried for the souls that saw Christians standing in line ..I worried that they saw that as unloving and hateful. I hope that is not the case, but I didn’t go to Chic Fillet and I don’t want to hurt anyone who felt compelled to go…..but that is where I chime in.

Leave a Reply

