Finally real

The past many months, I have studied the photos of a little one in Africa. I’ve tried to assess his personality. I’ve tried to figure out his diaper size. I’ve seen him grow from this tiny little person to an almost-toddler.

But it was yesterday when I was at Babies R Us (after having a salesperson ask me twice if I was okay – I must have looked quite bewildered) and finally left with a crib mattress, carseat mat, other odds and ends, and clothes in his size that I finally realized.

I am a mom.

I am a mom with a son who is coming home.

The countdown is on, Baby Shows. I cannot wait to meet you!

Leave a Reply

