Your Parents

Dear Baby Shows,

There are a few things you probably should know about your parents, so I thought I would give you a quick primer.

1. We’re pretty easy-going people. Well, at least your dad is. I’m Type A, but I’m learning to relax. I’m sorry in advance to planning out the next five years. I can’t help myself. Also, I don’t sit still well. I do try, but I fail miserably.

2. Your mother is a die-hard Philadelphia Eagles fan. I will raise you as one too. You can blame your Pop about this. If you decide to go cheer another NFL team, please just don’t tell me. I’ll feel like a failure as a mother. Your dad cheers on the Eagles, even if deep down inside he loves the Miami Dolphins. (We just don’t talk about it.)

3. Also, I’m not really into baseball, but I say that I’m a Red Sox fan and wear my hat mostly to irritate the neighbors from NJ or NY, who are usually NY Yankees fans. Nana Vicki will probably get you a Phillies hat. That’s okay. You can have freedom to cheer on any MLB team you want, EXCEPT the Yankees.

4. Most nights we eat dinner in the livingroom. It’s not that we don’t have a dining room. It’s not that we don’t have a dining room table. We just don’t use it. In fact, there’s probably a video on Facebook of me eating a pulled pork sandwich for the first time in 10 years. You will notice the non-dining room appears of our eating environment. This will probably change when you come home because I don’t want to clean up baby food off of the couch.

Mom eating her first piece of pork in 7 years (2010) – Yes, that’s a look of fear in my eyes.

5. Your parents are slightly geeky. We watch Mythbusters, 30 Rock, Community, Merlin, Eureka, BSG, and Firefly. It’s likely that the original Star Wars trilogy (episodes IV, V, and VI). and Lord of the Rings will be required viewing (when you’re old enough, of course). Don’t be surprised that the dog is named after a character from LotR. Believe me it fits.

6. I’m pretty sure that your dad is addicted to chocolate chip cookies. He will eat whatever kind, but his preference is for the Publix large chocolate-chip cookies.

Not an actual picture of your father

7. Your mom, however, has been eating a wheat-free, diary-free diet for about three years. I believe this is how I earned the nickname “Hippie Tree Lover” from our friend Robert. (Or maybe it’s because I cry at sappy things? I don’t remember anymore…) Anyway, it’s not as bad as you think. My meals rarely look like this:

So, there you have it. A little bit about us. We can’t wait to get to know you. We love you so very much and are counting down the days to have you home…

Love,

Your mom

4 thoughts on “Your Parents

  1. I love that you are doing this, writing notes to your Baby Shows. šŸ™‚ I try to keep a journal for our little girl, of her big steps, teeth, what’s going on right now. Wish I had done some before her arrival too. Celebrating with you guys in your journey of parenthood! God Bless!

  2. Eagles and non-Yankees?!?!?! Are you sure you guys went through proper adoption screening???!!!! Giants and Yankees all the way baby Shows. šŸ™‚

    Good blog post though. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

