That last mile

I know I don’t look like it, but I used to run. It was back in grad school when I (amazingly) had more time for stuff like that than I do now. I remember that I could give myself a pep talk about running for the first mile and it would feel good. But the last mile? I h a t e d  it. That dreaded last mile is so very painful and you just want it to end as quickly as possible. But of course, you don’t have the energy to make it end more quickly. Instead it drags out. It took every ounce of strength to be motivated just to make it back to my apartment.

The last mile is always the hardest. In all reality, you know you have the strength to do it, but in the moment, when you’re dealing with cramps, muscle fatigue, and sweat, you don’t think that you actually do. You want to quit.

I’m there right now. We are on the last mile. Don’t get me wrong – I know we can do this. I know we will do this. But sometimes I start to feel doubt creeping in. Like, as hard as we try, we’ll never actually make it. If I could fast-forward through all the painful steps, the figurative cramps and fatigue, I would. I know that’s not the positive “We can do this!” that I should be putting out into cyberspace. But this is where I am.
On the last mile.

I know we haven’t had to endure the wait that most families have. That’s a blessing and a curse. Because I’m so excited that I can barely contain myself. I can’t wait to hold Baby Shows in my arms. And I know that will be very soon.

Until then, we will push through. We will get this done. It will take perseverance. Endurance. It will take willpower that I didn’t know we had.

And then Baby Shows will be home. Forever.

So here is my last mile pep talk:

“Perseverance is not a long race; it is many short races one after the other.” Walter Elliot

~*~

“Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run withendurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith…” – The Author of Hebrews

~*~

“We can rejoice, too, when we run into problems and trials, for we know that they help us develop endurance. And endurance develops strength of character, and character strengthens our confident hope of salvation. And this hope will not lead to disappointment. For we know how dearly God loves us, because he has given us the Holy Spirit to fill our hearts with his love.” – Paul to the believers in Rome

~*~

“Patience and perseverance have a magical effect before which difficulties disappear and obstacles vanish.” – John Quincy Adams

~*~

“If your determination is fixed, I do not counsel you to despair. Few things are impossible to diligence and skill. Great works are performed not by strength, but by perseverance.”-Samuel Johnson

~*~

“Learn to do good. Seek justice. Reprove the ruthless. Defend the orphan. Plead for the widow.” – Isaiah

~*~

“Pure and undefiled religion in the sight of our God and Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their distress, and to keep oneself unstained by the world.” – James

2 thoughts on “That last mile

  1. This grueling expression
    is turned on it’s heels
    because you have
    a Paraclete.

    ~Especially in the last mile
    a vanguard & rear-guard
    moving you along
    with your courageous faith.

    {{* *}}

Leave a Reply

