Courage

If I were to take a Wizard of Oz themed personality assessment, I think I would end up as this guy:

I’m smart. And compassionate. And already home.

So that leave the one thing I feel like I lack: courage. I’m not brave. I’m not scared of everything, but definitely of certain things.

Courage is one thing I seek.

So as I’ve been praying for God’s will about something, I’ve also been asking for courage. Whatever it needs to look like for me. Courage to stand up for myself. Courage to stand up for others. Courage to stand up against my biggest fears.

And what I’ve determined to be the problem with courage is that it is one of those things that comes with practice. You don’t all of a sudden get courage to do something. You are scared out of your mind to do something, but you do it anyway. Isn’t that courage? Doing something despite your fear of it?

But as a believer, I’m taking assurance in knowing that I don’t have to go it alone. Aside from my awesome husband, I have the privilege of knowing that God is with me in all things:

Be strong and bold; have no fear or dread of them, because it is the Lord your God who goes with you; He will not fail you or forsake you. (Deuteronomy 31:6)

I hereby command you: Be strong and courageous; do not be frightened or dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go. (Joshua 1:9)

Wait for the Lord; be strong, and let your heart take courage; wait for the Lord! (Psalm 27:14)

 

So here I am.

Asking God for courage.

And I know that He’s going to give me opportunities to be courageous.

Whatever they might look like.

Leave a Reply

