Walk on the Water

I am fascinated by the story of Peter walking on the water with Jesus, as evidenced by this post and this post (and possibly one other post that I can’t see to find and I’ve now blogged so much that I don’t feel like going through all my posts to track it down… so a prize to anyone who can find it! And by prize I mean crazy blogging points).

Anyway, as I’ve continued to really seek God about what He’s possibly/maybe/potentially/probably calling me (us) to (again, I submit Evidence A), I can’t help but make the comparison to the moment before Peter steps out of the boat. Now, from the accounts described in the four gospels and Acts, I can imagine Peter is a much bolder person than I am, but still looking at the physically impossible must have intimidated him nonetheless. I might have a much smaller personality and voice, but I’m not so sure that Peter expected Christ to take him up on the “if it’s really you comment.” Heh. I guess we all make that “mistake.”

It’s that first step that is really scary. The first step is the one that is really impossible. It’s always the one that is hold us back. It keeps us from the bigger things that God wants for us: the opportunity to experience the Sovereign, the impossible. So we step out of our boat, our safe known place. Trembling or confidence. In tears or with joy. We step out.

Because, scary as it is, that first step is met with the hand of our God.

For God has not given us a spirit of timidity, but of power and love and discipline.
2 Timothy 1:7

Leave a Reply

