Circumstantial Faith

Per usual I can’t share the specifics of anything in this post. (Sorry – it stinks, I know!) Suffice it to say that I got a call today that wasn’t intended to be discouraging, but somehow left me discouraged nonetheless. I hung up and immediately those thoughts trickled in. “What if…what if…what if…” Plagued by doubt, I started to question everything. Even after my lifetime of faith in Christ, I still reach for fear and doubt as my first reaction when something looks remotely challenging to a bump-free existence.

When will I move beyond a faith that is circumstantial?

Situations often sway how I feel about my faith and God. But this isn’t the way it’s meant to be. Because the very definition of faith, as found in Hebrews, is

the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.

Faith is having full confidence (assurance) in what we are hoping for. It is the firmly held belief in something that is unseen.

Faith is being in those moments where doubt is our first reaction and still choosing to believe. It’s looking at the circumstances and choosing not be swayed. Faith is having the opportunity and reason to run around like a chicken with your head cut-off and choosing to stay calm and believe. Faith is a choice. And it’s often not the first thing we wish to choose.

But if our God is even half of Who He says He is, then He deserves my faith and trust. If He is even a tad bit faithful as evidenced in the Bible and throughout history, then I want to move forward in belief.

Faith comes with a blessing. That first step of faith may be terrifying, but after that faith become self-sustaining. Belief in God continues belief in Him. It sustains us through the circumstances that would otherwise call us to doubt.

7 “Blessed is the man who trusts in the LORD
And whose trust is the LORD.
8 “For he will be like a tree planted by the water,
That extends its roots by a stream
And will not fear when the heat comes;
But its leaves will be green,
And it will not be anxious in a year of drought
Nor cease to yield fruit.

Jeremiah 17:7-8

4 thoughts on “Circumstantial Faith

  1. How I can relate to what youare saying – and my “lifetime of faith” has a few years on yours! Nevertheless, you are right on. We must recognize the panic, doubts and fears and then return to center, to keeping our eyes on the One Who is the author and finisher of our faith. Circumstances may still throw me but I know, that I know, that I know He is faithful to me…and to you and Evan. God bless you mightily in this walk! Much love, Grandma

  2. I have had the same message coming at me from several places these last few days, and you are so right! I KNOW God wants to provide for Robert and I exactly what we want, yet I’ve been doubting. Why? God is a loving God who wants us to have all our needs as well as other blessings. I decided to take a stand on faith today as well. Thanks for sharing.

  3. I empathize with you on this journey of faith. Our adoption journey of faith actually took nearly a decade. The waiting was hard, but my faith in God grew tremendously in the process. I have been writing a book about our journey, which will be published in the spring with CrossBooks (a division of LifeWay). I’ll paste a link to the blog so you can stay updated if you like. I’ll also put a couple of links from my personal blog where I have written some things about our journey of faith.
    –Blessings,
    Delana
    http://nineyearpregnancy.wordpress.com
    http://delanasworld.wordpress.com/2011/10/06/a-season-of-waiting/
    http://delanasworld.wordpress.com/2011/10/23/how/

Leave a Reply

