Logic and faith

Today I feel like I’m somewhere between trigger shy and already three lengths from the starting gate. (Yes, I did just combine two metaphors.) Part of me is terrified of rushing the opportunity and the other part of me is scared that we might be missing the opportunity. I want so desperately to do what I think is God’s will for us, but I’m quite frankly terrified of being wrong either way. This decision is one of the biggest decisions in our lives. I don’t want to mess that up because of selfish desires or because I’m not sure I trust Him enough.

I sometimes wish God would write what’s next in the sky as I’m driving home from work. Or maybe He could speak audibly to me as I’m walking the dog. I wish He would send me an email or tag me in a tweet (“@Carla_Shows, Yes it’s time to go”) so that I could just know for certain that this is the right opportunity and time. I’m sitting here waiting for faith to be rational and logical. What if it’s not going to be? What if I never get that hard evidence that means it’s the “right” time?

Where does logic stop and faith begin? When am I being irresponsible and when am I being faithful? How do we ever know the difference?

Of course, we need to be wise. This venture will not be easy. We don’t want to complicate this anymore than it is inherently. The line between wisdom and faith looks blurry to me today.

As I look out onto the water, I’m really not sure how Peter took that first step. Because the idea of illogical steps onto that inky water is terrifying to me.

But I don’t want to miss the opportunity to walk on water with God.

6 thoughts on “Logic and faith

  1. First of all, I absolutely love you. I miss your honesty.
    Second, just wanna remind you that the only reason Peter stepped out is because he was walking toward Christ, even when he started to sink Christ picked him up. Whether or not it is time Christ is holding you and just keep your eyes on him and surrender this decision to him moment by moment and he won’t ignore your cry for help.

    I’m not worried for you and Evan with this. Not one bit.

  2. Thanks for your encouragement Bekah! I miss you and love you too.

    Praying for you as your semester starts – we’re so proud of you!

  3. My dear Carla, I really understand the feeling of not being totally sure of what God wants, but most of that, for me, is usually my head getting in the way of my faith. If we were always so sure, there would be no need for faith. You and Evan are one, so you can listen each other’s hearts. You can hold each other up. Then there is the scripture in Isaiah (30?) which say that if you turn to the right or lieft [of the path He has for you] He will be the voice behind your ear saying, “This is the way, walk ye in it.”
    The Lord is a good Father, and He understand your mother’s heart. He put the desire in you and evan to be parents, and what He starts, He finishes! There rarely is a time when we are perfectly and completely sure of our next steps, but we can be sure that He knows where you are going, when and how. Just continue to draw close to him, one foot in front of the other, and you’ll get where you’re going. Love and blessings, Grandma

  4. Too funny! Evan tweeted that verse the other day:

    Your ears will hear a word behind you, “This is the way, walk in it,” whenever you turn to the right or to the left. ~Isaiah 30:21

    Thanks for your encouragement, Grandma.

  5. Pingback: When we are not enough « Beyond Inspired

  6. Pingback: Walk on the Water « Beyond Inspired

Leave a Reply

