For the weary among us

I didn’t realize how much my previous post would speak to folks. I wish I could say that I realized that I was being transparent when I wrote it. That post came from my heart and it needs a place to go. (So of course I would post my private inward thoughts to the public forum of the Internet – who wouldn’t these days?)

Anyway, a while back, I posted a link to this family‘s coming home video. (They adopted two children from Uganda and the video is a beautiful example of adoption – both spiritually and here on earth.) Anyway, I perused their blog today and found this awesome post that encouraged me. If you’re weary and discouraged, this is for you too.

And earlier this morning, a friend sent me a Facebook message that referenced Romans 12:11-12. I actually love all of chapter 12 in Romans (I tend to find myself fond of verses are practical in nature), but here are a few of the verses that spoke to my heart today (emphasis mine):

9Let love be without hypocrisy. Abhor what is evil; cling to what is good. 10Be devoted to one another in brotherly love; give preference to one another in honor; 11not lagging behind in diligence, fervent in spirit, serving the Lord; 12 rejoicing in hope, persevering in tribulation, devoted to prayer, 13contributing to the needs of the saints, practicing hospitality.  14Bless those who persecute you; bless and do not curse. 15 Rejoice with those who rejoice, and weep with those who weep. 16Be of the same mind toward one another; do not be haughty in mind, but associate with the lowly. Do not be wise in your own estimation. 17Never pay back evil for evil to anyone. Respect what is right in the sight of all men. 18 If possible, so far as it depends on you, be at peace with all men.

So, if you in anyway identified with being weary in waiting, take heart. We have a lot to do as we wait.

One thought on “For the weary among us

  1. Dear Carla, Your writings always speak to me. I went to your friend’s article and then to Romans 12. I also ready Romans 12 in the Message. Powerful stuff. Thanks for your faithfulness and honesty. I am SO proud of you. Love and blessings!

Leave a Reply

