Hope

One year in high school (I can’t remember which) my mom did a unit on poetry. She gave me a book called Poems for a Good and Happy Life by Myrna Reid Grant. It’s a beautiful book of poetry on the seven virtues (wisdom, justice, courage, moderation, faith, hope, and love). I’ll admit it now; I loved writing poetry, but until this book, I didn’t really appreciate it.  I’ve had it a long time and it’s moved with me from my parents house to grad school to Florida. But it sat between a couple novels until I rediscovered it the a few months ago.

Recently, I’ve been reading a lot from the poems on Hope. I suppose given the second phone call last week (and knowing the mountains faced by some friends), I need to remind myself that hope works its hardest when everything looks its bleakest.

This poem caught my eye tonight.

 

Hope

Hope means to keep living
amid desperation,
and to keep humming in the darkness.
Hoping is knowing that there is love,
it is trust in tomorrow
it is falling asleep
and waking again
when the sun rises.
In the midst of a gale at sea,
it is to discover land.
In the eye of another
it is to see that he understands you.
As long as there is still hope
there will also be prayer.
And God will be holding you
in His hands.

-Henri Nouwen

One thought on “Hope

  1. A beautiful poem, a good lesson learned and a great thing to hang on to. May your faith continue to birth the hope in you that God is in charge and He holds you in His hands. Love and blessings!

Leave a Reply

