Mother’s Day

I daydream about the type of mother I’ll be. Will I be the mother my child needs? Will I provide him a home that he needs? Will I teach him to love God like we love God? Will I be able to make PBJs or grilled cheese as good as my mom? (Okay, I’m confident about my grilled cheese making skills.) Will I know what to do when he gets sick? A boo-boo?

I’ve never really thought about it until recently. I never really thought about all the things you need to be as a mother. I never really thought about all the things you need to be able to do as a mom. It’s not that I didn’t pay attention to the things that moms do. It’s more that I hadn’t ever really thought about my ability to do them.

So for the mothers, on this Mother’s Day, I just wanted to say that I admire you. I admire your confidence, your perseverance, your unconditional love. I admire your abilities, your talents. I respect you for your unfailing devotion to care for your family.

You’re so beautiful in so many ways.

Charm is deceitful and beauty is vain, But a woman who fears the LORD, she shall be praised.
Proverbs 31: 30

Leave a Reply

