Book review: A Year with God

I should begin my review with a disclaimer: I’m not usually one for devotional books. I think it’s the cheesy anecdotes that really do me in. I can read them for a little while and then I get annoyed. A Year with God by R.P. Nettelhorst is different. It is 100% anecdote-free. It’s like there’s another person who shares my frustrations will silly stories. The devotions expound on the referenced scripture and help you think about God’s own words.

What I really liked about the devotional is that you can read it straight through from Day 1 to Day 365 or you can read the devotions topically. The book is divided into ten antonym-pair topics: Hope and Fear, Love and Hate, Perseverance and Quitting, Faith and Doubt, Loyalty and Betrayal, Companionship and Isolation, Mercy and Judgment, Forgiveness and Anger, Joy and Sadness, and Peace and Conflict.

I think Nettelhorst does a good job in adding just enough to the Words of God to help you really dwell on them. Because he does reference the “words of God” the scripture references are all from the Old Testament. If you aren’t familiar with or are intimidated by the Old Testament, this is a user-friendly opportunity to get acquainted with it. Since many (most?) devotionals tend to focus on the New Testament, it was a refreshing change.

One thing that I didn’t like was the use of some of the translations of the Bible, but that’s really a personal preference. There were also some obscure references/devotions. I think some of that is the result of writing 365 devotions from the Old Testament.

Overall, I liked this simple approach to a daily devotion of God’s words. I really enjoyed this book. At $15.99 (suggested retail price), I think this is a good addition to my library.

 

I received this book to review for free from Booksneeze.com.

One thought on “Book review: A Year with God

  1. Pingback: Greater (A Book Review) | Beyond Inspired

Leave a Reply

