Great is Thy Faithfulness

Great is Thy faithfulness, O God my Father
There is no shadow of turning with You
Thou changest not, Thy compassions they fail not
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord unto me. 

I’ve had this hymn stuck in my head for the last two weeks. Seriously. I find myself humming it or singing it or just thinking about the lyrics at all hours of the day and night. This is not my favorite hymn, but I can’t seem to get it out of my head (which is making me fonder toward it each day). I’ve been so discouraged in a number of areas and I think it’s the Holy Spirit trying to remind me that nothing I feel compares to the reality of His faithfulness.

We’re coming up on some major life changes and I know that we’re doing the right thing. I know that we heard clearly and now it’s just a matter of trusting God. Someone said this summer that “lamp unto our feet” sometimes only gives us enough light just to see our feet. We don’t get to see down the “path”. I feel all we can see is our feet and that we don’t have enough light to see the next step. Trusting God is where I struggle most, especially when it comes to our finance. But all He is asking for (at this point) is my faith. My faith in His faithfulness to me, to us.

Faith is a funny thing. It requires some boldness – to act in ways that are contrary to what our rational heads say is what we should do. It requires us to leap and hope we grow the wings we need to get across the valley. It requires strength that I often don’t feel like I have. I’m not gifted in the area of faith. I don’t like having to trust God and allow Him to have all control, which is what faith means. It means He’s leading and I’m following.

But God is faithful. I have seen Him do amazing things as I grew up. I have seen His hand of provision in years past and in this most recent year. I know I serve a faithful God. Sometimes it’s a matter of getting my brain, my fearful brain to shut down and not try to calculate everything on the facts that I see. It’s a matter of finding the strength to believe that this God who is faithful will continue to be faithful because that is Who He is. As Paul states to Timothy:

If we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself.(2 Timothy 2:13)

By His very nature, He is faithful to me. I shouldn’t doubt or worry about His provision. Fortunately, His faithfulness doesn’t change because I doubt Him. And although I feel like I can no longer see my feet with His lamp – there’s a purpose to that too: I just have to listen to His voice. As uncomfortable as this faith thing is (it feels like I’m writing with my left hand), with each moment, I know He’s drawing me closer to Him.

Great is Thy faithfulness, great is Thy faithfulness…Lord unto me.

Leave a Reply

