God-Created Coincidences

I feel like my whole trip to Africa is a series of God-created “coincidences.” Evan and I “just happened” to meet Tymm Hoffman, one of the small group leaders at IDEAfarm, who “just happened” to be leading a trip to Rwanda, a place that I “just happened” to want to go and do mission work, which I “just happened” to feel a strong urge to do earlier that summer. God’s pretty cool with these “just happens.”

And today, there was another.

So, today I’m getting my flu shot (at the insistence of my loving mother-in-law) and I was asking the nurse on staff some questions about vaccinations. He “just happened” to have experience in doing vaccinations for international travel! He confirmed all the shots I need and gave me some info on the Yellow Fever vaccination that I fear (it’s a live virus – that worries me a little). I mentioned that I was planning to go to the health department to get all of them done. He replied and said to go to one of the hospitals in Orlando. It will be easier and probably cheaper. When I said that I was going on a missions trip, he said to mention that to the staff and they might be able to help discount the vaccinations!

I haven’t even left yet, but I feel like God has really taught me so much about trusting Him for big and small things. I hope that I can bless those kids as much as I have already been blessed. I have a tall order ahead of me.

And my God will supply all your needs according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:19)

Amen, Paul. Amen.

Leave a comment