Outlive Your Life (book review)

It’s been a while since I read a Max Lucado book. I forgot how friendly an author he is. His latest book, Outlive Your Life, makes the case that “you were made to make a difference.” I wanted to read this book for two reasons: First, I knew that Max was involved with World Vision and I’m a big advocate for World Vision’s work. Second, I think that the church should be more involved in changing our world, and helping the poor and disadvantaged is a oft-ignored priority. I’m always interested to read what others have to say about that.

He begins with an overview of the state of our world, including poverty, hunger, lack of clean water, and human trafficking. He then turns to make the case on why you and I as “Joe Pot Roast” (or Jane, if you prefer) should be involved. Lucado weaves examples from Acts with examples from our time to argue that even average people can make a difference.

This book is not as in-your-face challenging or haunting as some other books I’ve read recently (like Tom Davis’ Red Letters), but that makes it much more approachable. It’s easy to get overwhelmed by the problems in our world. Yet, in his usual casual manner, Lucado makes the topic very accessible for the average reader. I felt like I was having coffee with the author rather than reading. He’s a great storyteller, taking the stories from the early church and giving them a new breath. It is hard not to feel compelled to go do something after reading his book. Best part: all of his royalties from this book are going to support World Vision.

Title: Outlive Your Life
Author: Max Lucado
Publisher: Thomas Nelson
Price: $24.99

(I received a free copy of this book thanks to booksneeze.com)

Leave a Reply

