This Might Destroy You

That’s the name of a band, “This Might Destroy You.” It’s an awesome name, frankly. When I read it on Pandora I thought it would also make a great warning for the Call of Christ. Because although Christianity has recently become about consumerism and comfort, that’s not how it started. I think if we could hear the tone of voice that Christ used to call His disciples, we would hear those four words behind each of their calls. We certainly see it in the testimony of their lives.

Time and time again we see that answering the call of Christ leads to poverty, sometimes loneliness, humility, selflessness, patience, torture, imprisonment, and sometimes death. Not exactly what most people want to sign up for with their religion.

The call might destroy you.

When we truly give up what we want and pursue what God wants, we give up our control. We give up our comfort. We no longer decide what’s for our best. Many people cannot truly follow the call because that’s a lot to destroy. Sometimes, it feels like it’s too much. Christ asks not for some, but for all. Not for part-time, but for full-time.

And more than just the “obligation,” when the love of God really grasps our hearts, when we see people through His eyes, when we understand grace and compassion from His perspective, it’s hard not to have a life-changing moment. Understanding Isaiah 1:17 has been earth shattering for me. To see that God’s heart breaks for the impoverish and to understand that I have a role in helping the poor, this destroys my American Christian Ideology. My consumerist pursuit of comfort isn’t why I’m here. Yeah, this totally has destroyed me.

But this is the destruction that is good for us. Crucified with Christ so that others might see Him and not me and praise the Father above. We cannot truly pursue a pure faith with Christ unless we are willing to be destroyed in the process.

Yes, this might destroy you, but do you really want it any other way?

2 thoughts on “This Might Destroy You

  1. Hi,

    First of all I really like the site – I found it via Twitter.

    I hate the prosperity gospel, but I am not a big fan of any kind of poverty gospel either, so I was a bit wary when I read your comment here about poverty, but I think i know where you may be coming from… I find the balance between these two extremes to be found in the letting go of obsession with wealth and possessions. Its not that we shouldn’t have any, but that we understand that what we have is Gods, and we need to let Him guide us in how we use them. To use a sound-bite – we need to stop letting our possessions possess us. Would you agree with that?

    This might destroy you? For sure – This will destroy you, if you submit to Christ! Less of me and more of Christ has been my focus for a long time

    I am looking forward to reading more of your blog in the future…

    Tom

  2. Great thoughts, Tom. Yes, I agree. It’s not that we shouldn’t have anything, but I think that the *way* that we think about things is twisted. I think American Christianity has given in too much to consumerism and has forgotten our first purpose (to love and serve a broken world). I think we’ve gotten too comfortable (and in turn complacent) in our faith and found ways to justify that comfort. In my study recently, I have found little justification for that comfort. Of course, we shouldn’t have guilt about our stuff, but I think you said it well: We shouldn’t let our possessions possess us.

    I guess I’m trying to figure out how to balance the two, but I’d rather lean toward too much caring for the poor, than too much of my own comfort.

    Carla

Leave a Reply

