day 43.

My heart is overwhelmed at the moment by the love of God. I cannot comprehend it. In his second letter to Timothy, Paul remarks about God’s consistent character,

If we are faithless, He remains faithful, for He cannot deny Himself. (2 Tim. 2:13)

He loves me so much and so faithfully. I fail Him time and time again, yet He continues to love me. How is this possible? My only reference point is earthly love, which is conditional. My cognitive abilities aren’t enough to understand His love.

For one will hardly die for a righteous man; though perhaps for the good man someone would dare even to die. But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:8)

See how great a love the Father has bestowed on us, that we would be called children of God; and such we are. (1 John 3:1a)

For this reason I bow my knees before the Father, […] that He would grant you, according to the riches of His glory, to be strengthened with power through His Spirit in the inner man, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith; and that you, being rooted and grounded in love, may be able to comprehend with all of the saints what is the breadth and length and height and depth, and to know the love of Christ which surpasses knowledge, that you may be filled up to all the fullness of God. (Ephesians 3: 14-19)

He loves me so greatly and, yet, asks so little in return. He wants my heart and my love.

That is His request of me.

He gives me His great love through Christ and all He wants from me is my life. It doesn’t seem to be enough. I wish I had more to give to Him. I wish I were more faithful. I don’t deserve the gift He so free bestows on His children.

I am silenced at this thought.

Leave a Reply

